List Of Thermal Power Plants In India

Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station-Madhya Pradesh

The Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station is the biggest thermal power plant in India. It is located in the Singrauli district of Madhya Pradesh. It is a coal-based power plant owned and operated by NTPC with an installed capacity of 4,760MW. The plant uses coal from the NCL-operated Nigahi mine and water from the discharge canal of Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station. The turbine manufacturers for the Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station include Russian companies LMZ, Electrosila and the Indian BHEL.

The Construction of the plant was started in 1982. It is comprised 12 generating units in which six are of 210MW units and the rest six are of 500MW units. Its first unit was authorized in 1987 whereas the second unit of 500MW was commissioned in April 2013.

Mundra Thermal Power Station-Gujarat

The 4,620MW Mundra Thermal Power Station located is the second biggest operating thermal power plant in India. It is situated in the Kutch district of Gujarat. This station is a coal-fired power plant. Adani Power is the owner and operator of the station. It comprises of nine generating units (four 330MW units and five 660MW units).

The first 330MW unit was commissioned in May 2009 and the last 660MW unit of the plant commissioned in March 2012. Indonesia is the exporter of this coal used for the power plant. The plant's water source is the seawater from the Gulf of Kutch. The boilers and generators for the first four units were supplied by Babcock & Wilcox and **Beijing Beizhong** respectively.

Tiroda Thermal Power Plant, Maharashtra

Tiroda thermal power plant is located in Tiroda disctrict, Maharaastra. It is a 3,300MW coalbased power generation plant in Maharashtra. Adani Power Maharashtra Ltd is the owner and operator of this power plant. State-of-the-art supercritical technology is used in this power plant and it draws water from the Wainganga River for its operations. This power plant consists of five 660MW units. The first unit of the power plant was authorized in August 2012, while the last unit commenced operations in October 2014. The total area of this power plant is 454.86ha and is equipped with advanced pollution control equipment, including a 275m-high chimney, a dust extraction and suppression system, and low NOx burners.

Talcher Super Thermal Power Station, Odisha

The Talcher Super Thermal Power Station in situated in the **Angul district of Odisha**. It is a 3,000MW coal-fired power plant owned and operated by NTPC. It consists of six 500MW units. The first unit of the plant was commissioned in February 1995 and the last unit began operations in February 2005. ABB and BHEL are the Turbine manufacturers for the plant. **Lingraj Block of Talcher Coal Field** is supplier of coal for this plant. The water for this plant is sourced from **the Samal Barrage Reservoir** on the Brahmani River in Odisha.

Rihand Thermal Power Station, Uttar Pradesh

Rihand Thermal Power Station is situated at Rihandnagar, Sonebhadra district, Uttar Pradesh. This coal-fired power plant has an installed capacity of 3,000MW. The owner and operator of this power plant is NTPC. The plant consists of six units generating 500MW each. The first unit was commissioned in March 1988 while the sixth unit was commissioned in October 2013. Amlori, Amloric expansion, and the Dudhichua mines in Madhya Pradesh is the supplier of the Coal for the Rihand thermal power station. Rihand Reservoir built on Son River is the source of water for this power plant. It supplies electricity to states like Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, and Chandigarh.

List of Thermal Power Plants in India

The following table gives a list of major thermal plants in India, state-wise:

| STATE | THERMAL POWER PLANT |
|----------------|--|
| Madhya Pradesh | Amarkantak Thermal Power Plant |
| | Satpura Thermal Power Plant |
| | Sanjay Gandhi, Birsinghpur Thermal Power Plant |
| | Shri Singaji Thermal Power Station Dongalia |
| | Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station |
| | Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station |
| Maharashtra | Amravati Thermal Power plant |
| | Chandrapur Thermal Power plant |
| | Khaperkheda Thermal Power plant |
| | Tiroda Thermal Power plant |
| | Chandrapur Thermal Power plant |
| | Solapur Super Thermal Power Station |
| | Mauda Super Thermal Power Plant |
| Uttar Pradesh | Anpara Thermal Power plant |
| | Dadri Thermal Power plant |
| | Feroz Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power plant |
| | National Capital Thermal Power plant |
| | Obra Thermal Power plant |
| | Rihand Super Thermal Power plant |
| | Rosa Thermal Power plant |
| Bihar | Barauni Thermal Power Station |
| | Patratu Thermal Power Station |
| | Khalgaon Super Thermal Power Project |
| Karnataka | Raichur Thermal Power station |
| | Bellary Thermal Power station |
| | Yermarus Thermal Power Station |
| | Udupi Thermal Power plant |
| Chhattisgarh | Sipat Thermal Power Plant |
| | Lara Super Thermal Power Plant |
| | Korba Thermal Power Plant |
| | Bhilai Thermal Power Plant |
| Jharkhand | Bokaro Thermal Power plant |
| | Patratu Thermal Power plant |
| Rajasthan | Chhabra Thermal Power plant |

| | Kalisindh Thermal Power plant |
|----------------|--|
| | Kota Thermal Power plant |
| | Suratgarh Super Thermal Power Plant |
| | Barsingsar Thermal Power Station |
| | Anta Thermal Power Station |
| | Ramgarh Gas Thermal Power Station |
| West Bengal | Durgapur Thermal Power plant |
| | Farakka Thermal Power plant |
| | Mejia Thermal Power Station |
| | Kolaghat Thermal Power Station |
| | Bakreshwar Thermal Power Station |
| | Durgapur Steel Thermal Power Station |
| | Budge Budge Thermal Power Plant |
| | Sagardighi Thermal Power Station |
| Tamil Nadu | Ennore Thermal Power plant |
| | Mettur Thermal Power plant |
| | Neyveli Thermal Power Station |
| | Tuticorin Thermal Power Station |
| | IND Barath Thermal Power Plant |
| Gujarat | Gandhinagar Thermal Power plant |
| | Mudra Thermal Power plant |
| | Sikka Thermal Power plant |
| | Ukai Thermal Power plant |
| | Wanakbori Thermal Power plant |
| | Akrimota Thermal Power Station |
| | Kutch Lignite Thermal Power Station |
| | Sabarmati Thermal Power Station |
| Odisha | Hirakud Captive Thermal Power plant |
| Ĭ | Jharsuguda Thermal Power plant |
| | Talcher Thermal Power plant |
| Andhra Pradesh | Ramagundam Thermal Power plant |
| | Simhadri Thermal Power plant |
| Assam | Namrup Thermal Power Plant |
| | |