LIST OF COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS IN INDIA BEFORE INDEPENDENCE

NAME OF COMMITTEES/ COMMISSIONS	YEAR	GOVERNOR- GENERAL/VICEROY	SUBJECTS OF THE COMMITTEES/ COMMISSIONS
Charles Wood Despatch	1854	Lord Dalhousie	Education
Hunter Commission	1882	Lord Ripon	Education
Raleigh Commission	1902	Lord Curzon	Education
Sadler Commission	1917	Lord Chelmsford	Education
Hartog Commission	1929	Lord Irwin	Education
Sargent Plan	1944	Lord Wavell	Education
Campbell Commission	1866	Sir John Lawrence	Famine
Stratchy Commission	1880	Lord Lytton,	Famine
Lyall Commission	1886	Lord d Elgin-II	Famine
MacDonnell Commission	1900	Lord Curzon	Famine
Mansfield Commission	1886	Lord Dufferin	Currency
Fowler Commission	1898	Lord Elgin-II	Currency
Fraser Commission	1902	Lord Curzon	Agriculture
Babington Smith Commission	1919	Lord Chelmsford	Currency
Hunter Committee Report	1919	Lord Chelmsford	Punjab Disturbances
Muddiman Committee	1924	Lord Reading	To examine the working of Diarchy of the Montague-Chelmsford reforms
Butler Commission	1927	Lord Irwin	Indian States
Whitley Commission	1929	Lord Irwin	Labour
Simon Commission		Lord Irwin	To investigate the progress of the governance scheme and suggest new steps for reform

Sapru Commission	1935	Lord Linlithgow	Unemployment
Hilton young Commission	1939	Lord Linlithgow	Currency
Chatfield Commission	1939	Lord Linlithgow	Army
Floud Commission	1940	Lord Linlithgow	Tenancy in Bengal