LIST OF INDIA'S NEIGHBOURING COUNTRIES AND BORDERING STATES

A total of 9 countries share borders with India. Out of these, 7 countries share land borders while 2 countries share sea borders with India. Bhutan is the smallest neighbouring country of India in terms of land borders.

NEIGHBOURING COUNTRY	BORDERING STATES
Afghanistan	Jammu and Kashmir (POK Part)
Bangladesh	West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Assam
Bhutan	Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Sikkim, and West Bengal
China	Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh
Myanmar	Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland
Nepal	Sikkim, West Bengal, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttrakhand
Pakistan	Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Gujarat, and Rajasthan
Sri Lanka	Separated from India by Gulf of Mannar
Maldives	The south-west part of the Indian Ocean below the Lakshadweep Island

• Afghanistan

Border Length- 106 km

Official Languages - Dari, Pashto

Currency – Afghan Afghani

States/ Provinces – 34 Provinces

Located in Central Asia, Afghanistan has an area of about 6,52,230 sq km. Major dependence of this country's economy is on agriculture. The prominent religion that is followed by the people in Afghanistan is Islam, and the main industrial activities include manufacturing of cotton textiles, woven carpets, handicrafts and woollens.

Bangladesh

Border Line – 4096.7 Km

Official Language – Bengali

Currency - Bangladeshi Taka

States/ Provinces – 8 Provinces

India and Bangladesh share one of the longest borders in the world and It covers an area of 1,43,998 sq km and has a coastline of 580 km. The Bangladeshi states, Rajshahi, Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna, Rangpur and Sylhet, share their borders with India.

Bhutan

Border Line – 699 km

Official Language - Dzongkha

Currency – BhutaneseNgultrum

States/ Provinces – 20 States

Spread over an area of 38, 394 sq km, the population of this country follows Buddhism followed by Hinduism. There is a parliamentary form of Government in Bhutan, and the primary sources of the economy include Hydropower, agriculture, forestry and tourism.

China

Border Line – 3488 km

Official Language – Mandarin

Currency – Chinese Yuan

States/ Provinces – 26 Provinces

The world's most populated country, China, spreads over an area of about 95,96,960 sq km. The country is one of the world's fastest-growing economies. India and China hold cordial relations, but there are certain disputes which lead to strained relations between the two countries.

Myanmar

Border Line – 1643 km

Official Language – Burmese

Currency – Burmese Kyat

Located in the western portion of mainland South Asia Myanmar and is spread over an area of 6,76,578 sq km. The presidential republic governs the country by a bicameral legislature. India is Myanmar's fourth-largest export market.

Nepal

Border Line – 1751 km

Official Language – Nepali

Currency – Nepalese Rupee

States/ Provinces – 7 Provinces

Nepal is located to the northeast of India and extended over an area of 1,47,181 sq km. The world's tallest peak, Mount Everest is located in Nepal. Also, eight of the tallest mountain peaks out of the 10 across the world, are located in Nepal. A major part of the economy is handled by tourism, and the Government is a federal parliamentary republic.

Pakistan

Border Line – 3323 km

Official Language – Urdu

Currency – Pakistani Rupee

States/ Provinces – 4 Provinces

A country which was initially a part of India was separated to form a new country, named Pakistan. This country spans over an area of 7,96,095 sq km. The Prime Minister is the head of the country and all major decisions are made under his supervision.

Sri Lanka

Border Line – Sea Border

Official Language – Sinhala, Tamil

Currency – Sri Lankan Rupee

States/ Provinces – 9 States

One of the two countries which share Indian coastline, Sri Lanka is spread over an area of 65,610 sq km. It is considered as a tourist destination by many and is one of those places which is home to many ethnic groups and religious cultures.

Maldives

Border Line – Sea Border

Official Language – Dhivehi

Currency – Maldivian Rufiyaa

States/ Provinces – 1 Only

Located in the Indian Ocean-Arabian sea area, the island nation of Maldives is located to the south-west of India. Spread over an area of 298 sq km only, Maldives comprises more than a thousand coral islands. The predominant religion in the country is Islam.