## Important Newspapers during Indian Freedom Struggle

Name	Newspaper/ Journal	Founder	Year
Bengal Gazette	English newspaper	James Augustus Hicky	1780
Samvad Kaumudi	Bengali weekly newspaper	Ram Mohan Roy	1819
Mirat-ul-Akbar	Persian language journal	Raja Ram Mohan Roy	1822
Rast Goftar	Gujarati Newspaper	Dadabhai Naoroji	1854
Som Prakesh	Weekly newspaper	Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar	1858
Indian Mirror	Newspaper	Devendra Nath Tagore	1862
Amrita Bazar Patrika	Newspaper	Sisir Kumar Ghosh and Motilal Ghosh	1868
Tahzib-ul- Akhlaq	Journal	Sir Syed Ahmed Khan	1871
Hindu	Newspaper	Vir Raghavacharya and G.S. Aiyar	1878
Kesari	Marathi Newspaper	B.G. Tilak	1881
Sudharak	Newspaper	G.K. Gokhale	1888
Hindoo Patriot	English weekly	Girish Chandra Ghosh	1892
Prabuddha Bharata	English monthly journal	Swami Vivekananda	1896
Udbodhana	Magazine	Swami Vivekananda	1899
Indian Opinion	Newspaper	M. K Gandhi	1903
Bande Mataram	English language newspaper	Aurobindo Ghosh	1905
Bombay Chronicle	English-language newspaper	Firoze Shah Mehta	1910
Comrade	Weekly English newspaper	Maulana Mohammad Ali	1911
Al-Balagh	Urdu weekly newspaper	Abul Kalam Azad	1912
Al-Hilal	Urdu weekly newspaper	Abul Kalam Azad	1912
Pratap	Hindi language	Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi	1913

	newspaper		
New India	English-language daily newspaper	Annie Besant	1914
Independent	Newspaper	Motilal Nehru	1919
Young India	Weekly journal	M. K Gandhi	1919
Mook Nayak	Marathi weekly	B.R. Ambedkar	1920
Hindustan Times	English daily newspaper	Sunder Singh Lyallpuri	1924
Nav Jeevan	Weekly newspaper	M. K Gandhi	1929
Harijan	Weekly journal	M. K Gandhi	1932
Free Hindustan	Journal	Tarak Nath Das	1936
Hindustan Dainik	Hindi newspaper	M.M. Malviya	1936