The Great Sixteen - Mahajanapadas (600 -330 BCE)

NAME OF THE MAHAJANAPADA	CAPITAL	LOCATION	
Anga	Champa	Included the modern districts of Monghyr and Bhagalpur in Bihar.	
Magadha	Earlier Rajgriha, later Patliputra	Covered the modern districts of Patna, Gaya, and parts of Shahabad.	
Malla	Capitals at Kusinara and Pawa	Covered the modern districts of Deoria, Basti, Gorakhpur and Siddarthnagar in eastern UP.	
Vajji	Vaishali	Situated north of the river Ganga in Bihar.	
Kosala	Sravasti	Covered modern day districts of Faziabad, Gonda, Bahraich of eastern Uttar Pradesh.	
Kashi	Varanasi	Located in the region around Varanasi (modern Banaras).	
Chedi	Shuktimati	Covered present day Bundelkhand region.	
Kuru	Indraprastha	Covered modern Haryana and Delhi.	
Vatsa	Kaushambi	Covered modern districts Allahabad, Mirzapur.	
Panchala	Ahichhatra(Uttara Panchala) and Kampilya(Dakshina Panchala)	Covered the area of present western UP up to the east of river Yamuna up to Kosala janapada.	
Matsya	Viratanagara	Covered the areas of Alwar, Bhartpur and Jaipur in Rajasthan.	
Sursena	Mathura	Covered the area around Mathura.	
Avanti	Ujjaini and Mahishmati	Covered the western India (modern Malawa).	
Ashmaka	Potana	Situated in the southern part of the India between the rivers Narmada and Godavari.	
Kamboja	Capital at Rajapura in modern-day Kashmir	Covered the area of Hindukush (modern Hazara districts of Pakistan)	
Gandhara	Taxila	Covered the western part of Pakistan and eastern Afghanistan.	